New album out now!

Yeats Project Press

Press Quotes:

“Backed by a small group, conducted by Tom Richards, Jerrom writes the compositions and sings the poetry of William Butler Yeats. The results are a third stream art music. The music has a touch of free improv mixed with chamber music and the instrumental-like vocals are divided in and around the compositions. It’s an ambitious undertaking and one that is successful… Jerrom sounds best when she is free of traditional confines.”

– Robert Rusch, Cadence Magazine

“Taking on such an ambitious project and putting it all together makes Sarah Jerrom one exceptional talent… A rare treat for the soul and mind, The Yeats Project radiates from every direction.”

– Memphis Marty Delia, The Jazz Music Blog, Australia

“With its confluence of classical instrumentation, jazz language, and superb poetry, Sarah Jerrom’s “The Yeats Project” captures all of the best elements of the Third Stream movement… Overall, “The Yeats Project” is an impressive composition, expertly realized by Jerrom and her outstanding instrumentalists.”

– Thomas Cunniffe, Jazz History Online

“To create a project around an Irish – albeit world-renowned – poet, W.B. Yeats, who wrote at the turn of the 19th century and until the mid-20th century is commendable despite the fact that in all of the arts, poetry almost inevitably draws the shortest straw in all of the arts is very courageous on the part of Sarah Jerrom. But by the same token, judged purely on her performance here Ms. Jerrom appears born to do this. Her voice is pristine and high-sprung. She has an innate sense of lyricism and seems not just to dwell in, but is immersed in an enormous palette of the most gorgeous colours. And in an almost eerie twist of fate she is blessed with a quivering vibrato, like Mr Yeats’ recitation voice, which she uses to glide up and down the soprano (and sometimes mezzo-soprano) registers. This she uses to great effect to render the frail, almost ghostly imagery of Mr Yeats poetry. Ms. Jerrom is also a very astute and serious musician. This certainly comes through in the majestic work on this album. Except for “She Moves Through the Fair”, which is a traditional Irish song (written probably at the turn of the 19th century but) published in 1909, Sarah Jerrom has written all of the wonderful music for this album and set, quite masterfully, the poems of Mr Yeats to the music. Clearly she also imagined how this would sound and has put together a remarkable chamber group to bring it all to fruition. All of the musicians are drawn from both the classical and contemporary realm and include some of the best-known names in the improvisatory scene. Notable ones are cellist Andrew Downing, flugelhorn player Tara Kannangara, bassist Rob McBride, pianist Carissa Neufeld, violist Aleksander Gajic, violinist Linnea Thacker, clarinetist Johnny Griffith and drummer Ernesto Cervini, wonderfully conducted by Tom Richards. However the master-stroke is most definitely delivered by the wraith-like vocals of Sarah Jerrom.”

– Raul da Gama, Toronto Music Report

“Sarah Jerrom has an almost otherworldly approach to her ethereal compositions, combining jazz, improvised, contemporary and classical music. These are detailed, well-thought-out settings to ten Yeats’ poems, which fit her vocal stylings with complex melodies, wide pitch jumps and subtle tonal colours. She has arranged her work for an all-star nine member chamber band of strings, woodwinds, brass and rhythm section, each member an improvising star in their own right. By treating her instrumentalists as equals, Jerrom creates perfect poetic musical settings…”

– Tiina Kiik – Listening Room, the Whole Note Magazine

“It was the arranging which struck me when I first heard the (Yeats Project’s) music back in 2012; the poems lend themselves to beautiful, lush treatments, and Sarah uses the ensemble’s nine instruments to great effect. The result is contemporary sounding but still tuneful, an interesting mix of chamber music and improvisation; Sarah’s impressive vocals soar over top.”

– Josh Grossman – Artistic Director, Toronto Downtown Jazz Festival

“Vocalist/composer/arranger Sarah Jerrom has a strong voice to go with her cerebral approach to jazz. Her embracing of chamber jazz melds her firm, but airy voice with compositions that bandy about contrasting notes to find a kind of balance in the midst of it all. It’s an approach to music that’s poetic, which is why it so fits with the work of William Butler Yeats, a man who found balance in contrasts bearing from his Irish soul. Thus, for her latest album, Jerrom has composed songs for some of Yeats’ poetry, arranged it for a nine-piece group of fine Toronto musicians, and set it all up to greet the world…”

– Anthony Dean-Harris, Editor-in-Chief,

“Composer/singer Jerrom working with some of Toronto’s most esteemed jazz and classical musicians, including the remarkable cellist Andrew Downing and drummer Ernesto Cervini, uses elements of Celtic music of course, but also explodes into swinging commentary, edgy minor key syncopated riffs, and recurrent melodic undulations, ebbs and swells. Pianist Carissa Neufeld links the classical string section and the jazz ensemble together to create seamless transitions between genres. The poem “Adam’s Curse” is a profound feminist commentary exquisitely performed. Also standout arrangements include “Stream and Sun at Glendalough” and “Sailing to Byzantium”.

– Hobart Taylor, KUCI 88.9FM, University of California in Irvine

Full Articles and Reviews:

January/February/March 2018: Cadence Magazine (p. 67, 68), Robert Rusch

January 13, 2018: Schweiz am Wochenende, Jurg Sommer, Switzerland

Jan. 10, 2018 Composer, Arranger and Singer Sarah Jerrom presents “The Yeats Project”… exquisite chamber jazz: Memphis Marty Delia, The Jazz Music Blog, Australia

Jan. 1, 2018 Too Good To Leave Behind: Thomas Cunniffe, Jazz History Online

Dec. 14, 2017 A New Songbook… Sarah Jerrom: The Yeats Project: George W. Harris,

Nov. 28, 2017 Sarah Jerrom – The Yeats Project: Georges Tonla Briquet, Jazzenzo Jazz Magazine, Brussels

Nov. 5, 2017 Sarah Jerrom – The Yeats Project: Raul da Gama, Toronto Music Report

Nov. 1, 2017 –
Five Women XII: C Michael Bailey,

November 2017- Thoughtful Poetry: Leif Carlsson, Lira Magasin, Sweden

November 2017The Listening Room: Tiina Kiik, The Whole Note Magazine

Oct. 27, 2017 Sarah Jerrom: The Yeats Project: Ivan Rod, Reviewer,, Denmark

Oct. 19, 2017 New in the KUCI Jazz Library: Hobart Taylor, KUCI 88.9FM, University of California in Irvine

Sept. 19, 2017 The Next Generation of Jazz: Anthony Dean-Harris, Editor-in-Chief,

March 5, 2015It’s Special Projects Time!: Josh Grossman, Artistic Director, Toronto Downtown Jazz

February 26, 2015Lots To See And Do In Niagara This Weekend!: Mike Saunders’ Fine Music Blog

February 25, 2015Sarah Jerrom’s Poetic Jazz Comes To Brock: John Law, St. Catharines Standard

March 2013TO Jazz News From Josh: Toronto Jazz E-News

March 2013Five Things To Do In Toronto On The Weekend Of Mar. 15 – 17: Toronto Life

February 2013And The Winners Are… Toronto Downtown Jazz Festival News